Nursing

The 'Pink Book,' provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and others with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent.

The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) values evidence based practice (EBP) as a way to affect best patient care. EBP integrates the best available evidence to guide nursing care and improve patient outcomes. This helps health practitioners address health care questions with an evaluative and qualitative approach.

This useful guide comes from UNC: Health Sciences Library. It is all about Evidence Based Nursing.

This short video from The Nursing Center goes over the 8 Rights of Medication Administration

Most charting completed by nurses falls into one of three categories: 1) flowcharts; 2) careplans; and 3) narratives. Individual employers require different amounts of charting in these areas, (insert example here). The guidelines below are intended to be broad enough to cover many different levels of charting while still providing useful suggestions.

Learn all about the nutritional information for different life stages such as infants, children, teens, men & women, and seniors.

List of nutritional databases.
Resources include bibliographic and other on-line searchable databases, as well links to a variety of food, nutrition and health-related journals.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality ( or the National Guideline Clearing House) provides physicians and other health professionals with information on accessible mechanisms for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

CDC is responsible for controlling the introduction and spread of infectious diseases, and provides consultation and assistance to other nations and international agencies to assist in improving their disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion activities.

The Genetic and Rare Disease (GARD) Information Center is a program of the National Center for Advancing Transnational Sciences (NCATS) and funded by two parts of the National Institutes of Health (NIH): NCATS and the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). GARD provides the public with access to current, reliable, and easy to understand information about rare or genetic diseases in English or Spanish.

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving health and achieving health equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce and innovative programs. HRSA's programs provide health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR), part of the National Institutes of Health, supports basic and clinical research that develops the knowledge to build the scientific foundation for clinical practice, prevent disease and disability, manage and eliminate symptoms caused by illness, and enhance the end-of-life and palliative care.

Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, health eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers. Providing science-based dietary guidance is critical to enhance the public's ability to make healthy choices in the effort to reduce obesity and other food related diseases. Since dietary needs change throughout the lifespan, specialized nutrition information is provided about infants, children, teens, adult women and men, and seniors.

The Office of Minority Health addresses disease prevention, health promotion, risk reduction, healthier lifestyle choices, use of health care services and barriers to health care for racial and ethnic minorities.

The Food and Nutrition Information Center - a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.