Skip to main content
Library Home | Help & Research Guides

Information Technology

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Terms

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES): Is a symmetric block cipher used by the U.S. government to protect classified information and is implemented in software and hardware throughout the world to encrypt sensitive data. (http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/definition/Advanced-Encryption-Standard)

Database Management System (DBMS): Is a system software for creating and managing databases. It provides users and programmers with a systematic way to create, retrieve, update and manage data.(http://searchsqlserver.techtarget.com/definition/database-management-system)

Domain Name: A name owned by a person or organization and consisting of an alphabetical or alphanumeric sequence followed by a suffix indicating the top-level domain; used as an internet address to identify the location of particular web pages. (Dictionary.com)

CPU: Central processing unit: the key component of a computer system, which contains the circuitry necessary to interpret and execute program instructions. (Dictionary.com)

Internet Protocol (IP): A communications protocol for computers connected to a network, especially the Internet, specifying the format for address and units of transmitted data. (Dictionary.com)

Joint Application Development (JAD): Is a methodology that involves the client or end user in the design and development of an application, through a succession of collaborative workshops called JAD sessions. (http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/definition/JAD)

LAN ( Local Area Network): A system for linking personal computers and workstations with each other in order to share data, devices, programs, etc (Dictionary.com)

Linux: An operating system, based on UNIX, that runs on many different hardware platforms and whose source code is available to public. (Dictionary.com)

Message Authentication Code (MAC): Is a cryptographic checksum on data that uses a session key to detect both accidental intentional modification of the data. (http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/definition/message-authentication-code-MAC)

Network Information System (NIS): Is a network naming and administration system for smaller networks. (http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/definition/NIS)

Processor: A controller, the key component of a computing device that contains the circuitry necessary to interpret and execute electrical signals fed into the device.(Dictionary.com)

Process Virtual Machine: A platform-independent execution environment that itself runs as a normal application inside a host operating system and enables a program written for the virtual machine to execute the same way on any platform.(Dictionary.com)

Public Key Infrastructure (PKI): A system of public key encryption using digital certificates from Certificate Authorities and other registration authorities that verify and authenticate the validity of each party involved in an electronic transaction. (Dictionary.com)

Query-by-Example (QBE): Is a method of query creation that allows the user to search for documents based on an example in the form of a selected text string or in the form of a document name or a list of documents. (http://searchoracle.techtarget.com/definition/Query-by-Example)

Rapid Application Development (RAD): A loose term for any software life-cycle designed to give faster developments nad better results and to take maximum advantage of recent advances in development software. (http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/definition/rapid-application-development)

Rational Unified Process (RUP): Is an object-oriented and Web-enabled program development methodology. It is like an online mentor that provides guidelines, templates, and examples for all aspects and states of program development. (http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/definition/Rational-Unified-Process)

Structured Query Language (SQL): Is a standard interactive and programming language for getting information from and updating a database.(http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/definition/SQL)

System Virtual Machine: A self-contained operating environment that behaves as it is a separate computer, with no access to the host operating system.(Dictionary.com)

Total Cost of Ownership (TCO): Is an estimation of the expenses associated with purchasing, deploying, using and retiring a product or piece of equipment. (http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/definition/TCO)

Unified Modeling Language (UML): Is an open method used to specify, visualize, construct and documents the artifacts of an object-oriented software-intensive system under development. (Dictionary.com)

voIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol): A technology or set of standards for delivery of telephone calls and other voice communications over the Internet, involving, conversion of analog voice signals to digital form.(Dictionary.com)

Virtual Private Network (VPN): A network that uses the internet to transfer information using secure methods. (Dictionary.com)

WLAN: A wireless broadband system for linking personal computers and workstations with each other in order to share data, devices, programs, etc. (Dictionary.com)