This book covers all cases that trainees would expect to anaesthetize while being on call, both during the day and out of hours. It uniquely deals with the provision of anaesthesia in emergencies (on-call anaesthesia, trauma etc) rather than covering emergencies that occur during anaesthesia. The book also ties into the curriculum for the CCT in Anaesthetics and it is covered in all three parts of the college's CPD matrix, which in turn is linked to the revalidation curriculum.
This book provides a helpful and comprehensive insight into the role of the paramedic. It utilities a variety of experts within the field to illustrate many of the issues often confronted by those working within this area. It is the ideal resource for paramedics and student paramedics looking for a quick reference guide to help develop their assessment skills. This handy pocket sized book can be used by students for exam revision, or by paramedics en-route to a call, to revisit key points and further refine their skills.
This expanded new edition delves into the historical perspective of crisis intervention and examines the advancements that have been made in order to reflect the latest developments in the field. It is intended for pre-service and in-service criminal justice and social service crisis interveners who come into contact with victims of domestic/spouse abuse, child abuse and neglect, rape and sexual assault, loss of a loved one, or any other type of crisis. This book deals extensively with the special considerations involved in intervening in non-secure field settings and provides an updated strategy for teaching crisis intervention in the criminal justice curriculum. Step-by-step procedures and numerous examples and role-plays teach readers how to intervene in crises.
This essential easy-to-use guide provides guidance on the immediate care for patients with sporting injuries. Covering every type of sporting emergency from head injuries to altitude sickness, this crucial volume appeals to a wide audience, from the doctor involved directly in sports medicine to the doctor who occasionally watches their children play sport and is concerned that they will occasionally be called upon to give medical advice.
This practical book provides a no nonsense guide for student and qualified paramedics looking to understand the key elements of research, and what it means for their profession. The authors explain key concepts and methodologies to help you get to grips with the nature of paramedic research and how it works in practice. By drawing on a wealth of cases and examples, research is placed firmly in the context of clinical practice. The book will enable you to critique research and to engage in small-scale research projects of your own.
"Paramedics Test yourself in Pathophysiology" is the essential self-test resource to help paramedics revise and excel in their pathophysiology modules and exams. With over 250 questions, 60 glossary terms, fully explained answers and explanations, this book covers the most common presentations seen in the paramedic practice.
This book is the essential self-test resource to help paramedics revise and excel in their anatomy and physiology modules and exams. Crammed full of over 400 questions, this unique book also includes fully explained answers and explanations to help consolidate learning as you test yourself using: anatomy artwork, multiple choice questions, true or false questions, fill in the blank questions, and labeling exercises. An extensive glossary explains all the key terms. Each main body system has its own chapter, so you can get in depth practice for your exams.
This accessible book will help both practicing and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams. Part of a new Case Book series, the book starts with a description of the patient history and examination, then challenges you to spot important signs, determine a likely diagnosis and make important management decisions. This technique helps to cement prior knowledge and teach both scientific and practical knowledge, both vital for today's paramedic. By looking at the journey of the patient and paramedic, the authors provide a more complete understanding of the care pathway, helping you to be aware of signs of severe illness and develop safe practice.
Fast-track medical settings call for at-your-fingertips information. Here is an easy-to-use, quick-reference guide for nurse practitioners and other health care providers in emergency, medical, screening, fast track, and/or primary care settings with pediatric patients. In a concise, optimally organized format that includes current, evidence-based guidelines, the resource delivers a wealth of information for assessment and management of the most commonly encountered problems in these settings.
Problems contacting emergency services and delayed assistance are not unusual when incidents occur in rural areas, and the consequences can be devastating, particularly with mass casualty incidents. The IOM's Forum on Medical and Public Health Preparedness for Catastrophic Events held a workshop to examine the current capabilities of emergency response systems and the future opportunities to improve mass casualty response in rural communities.