Library: Open Educational Resources & Open Access: Textbooks & Media

More than Texts

Did you know that Open Educational Resources are more than just textbooks? Much like publisher provided content, there are OERs that can also be used to supplement traditional texts.

OERs are available as instructional videos, assessment tools, simulations and online courses. Browse the multimedia repositories to the right to explore the possibilities.

Martinez, H. Unsplash.com

Textbooks and Media

College Open Textbooks - This effort funded by the Hewlett Foundation, seeks to drive adoption of open textbooks. Many of the books shared on this resources are reviewed.
Free books4doctors - Free medical textbooks.
Global Textbook Project - High-level texts hosted or created by the University of Georgia.
OpenStax - Rice University: Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education.
Open Textbook Library - Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks collected by the University of Minnesota.
Project Gutenberg - Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence.

Jacobson, J. Unsplash.com

Repository of Mixed Media Materials

Community of Online Research Assignments
This source is an open access resources for faculty and librarians. The database contains multiple, reliable and reproductive research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Tool kit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, librarian blogs, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OASIS Search
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search). We have gathered more than 155,000+ records from 52 different sources that have been carefully selected in collaboration with SUNY OER Services.
OpenDOAR- The Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories
Registry of Research Data Repositories
This is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions.

Textbooks

College Open Textbooks
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Openstax
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Media

Critical Commons
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
HippoCampus
HippoCampus is a free, core academic website that delivers rich multimedia content - videos, animations, and simulations - on general educations subjects.
Khan Academy (Video Based Learning)
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Out math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We've also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.